Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is often argued that many countries have problems of rapidly growing populations in urban areas. This essay will discuss some issues of overpopulation and solutions that can be taken by people and authorities. The main problem of overpopulation is lack of accommodation because the amount of people's migration to big cities increasing sharply every day. Big cities have a lot of job opportunities and better standards of life. Consequently, individuals do not have many places for living and they become the homeless. Another issue with what large towns have to deal this days is traffic jams which leads to air pollution problem. However, there are some solutions that governments could take to deal with accomodation problem. First of all, if authorities build more buildings and expand some areas, people will afford places to live. Furthermore, to handle the traffic jam problem, the government could construct more highways and roads to reduce traffic and improve public transportation in a better way, such as turn on air conditioners in summer and heating in winter. On the other hand, individuals should also play an essential role to deal with these problems. One way to take an action to decrease traffic is to start using public modes of transport instead of their private vehicles. The accomodation problem may be done by sharing flats with other people. To conclude, overpopulation causes some problems, such as traffic and lack of accommodation, but the most important thing is that both governments and people must take action to combat with these difficulties.