Overpopulation in many urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes? How can this problem be solved?

Many metropolitan cities around the world are overcrowded which has resulted in serious environmental and health issues. This essay will consider the major causes of overpopulation in urban centers namely, rural to urban migration and uncontrolled procreation while promising solutions will be propose. One major cause of population explosion in many urban cities is the rise in rural to urban migration. This occur because many people in the countrysides seek for better education, job opportunities and social amenities which are available in urban centers. For example, in Nigeria, cities like Lagos are overcrowded due to migration of unemployed youths in search of jobs from other parts of the country to these cities. As a result, some metropolitan centers are experiencing overpopulation. Furthermore, there is uncontrolled procreation in some parts of the world. In recent years, some couples have more children than what the resources of the cities can accommodate. For instance, in northern Nigeria, an average family comprise of between eight to fourteen people which has caused a surge in the population. This has resulted in overcrowding of some city centers. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. First of all, government should limit rural to urban migration by ensuring the development of educational institutions, health facilities and industries in towns and smaller cities. This will discourage emigration to the large cites. Secondly, government should promote policies that will control reproduction such as family planning initiatives. This will reduce the population of major cities over a couple of years to come. In conclusion, overpopulation experienced in some urban centers around the world arise due to migration of people from the countrysides to major cities and due to excessive procreation. In an effort to combat this problem, the government should develop the rural areas and promote policies that discourage uncontrolled reproduction in our society.