Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Many city centres around the globe are faced with the challenge of overpopulation. The major factors leading to this trend are, better living conditions and access to the basic needs of life in cities. There is a range of solutions that can be implemented to tackle this problem. Firstly, one reason for the spurt in population in big cities around the world, is because they provide a higher standard of living and abundant access to the basic needs of life. In other words, there is access to a wide variety of high paying jobs, which results in the overall improvement of the quality of life, therefore, making them more desirous of settling in and working. Secondly, big cities provide its residents with the best healthcare and educational facilities, which are served by top-notch professionals. Consequently, all of these factors result in the movement of people in large numbers to cities. The phenomenon of rapid population growth in the metros can be solved by setting up new and improving existing facilities and amenities for people in rural areas, so that they do not feel the need to re-settle in cities. This can be achieved by providing incentives to the healthcare and teaching professionals such as, free or reduced healthcare and insurance to encourage them to serve in the countryside. As a result, if these areas of public sector improve, people will less likely migrate to city centres as they have the required facilities where they already live. Furthermore, creating avenues for employment in high wage jobs is critical in reducing the mass movement of people and the government can support industries who set up plants in rural areas by providing tax cuts, which will bolster the local job market and will have a positive impact on the local economy, thus further stalling the migration of people to cities. In conclusion, the trend of growing population rise in cities can be tackled by improving the basic infrastructure in rural areas and creating high paying wages.