To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more or their waste?

Several people state that too much of the daily trash from homes are not properly recycled, and therefore, the situation could only be changed with the government intervention by creating a new law to enforce people to do it. Sad as it seems, people are used to only doing things when forced to it. Since childhood, human beings are given the option to do what is right or wrong. However, they make the decisions according to their own benefits which normally leads to follow the last of them. Things change when someone else is watching, and then it becomes a matter of avoiding a factual punishment or to prove we are capable to what someone with a higher hierarchy, in this case, parents or teachers, expect us to do. There are many benefits to going green, but people are too careless and selfish to see them. Todays' hectic life makes people create shortcuts where they should not. For instance, recycling can take some extra time by classifying waste, compressing packages, or even organizing the paper. Hence, humans thing that by not recycling they can earn some extra minutes without worrying about losing nature life or wasting public resources for having someone else to do it for them. To sum up, humanity has too much to lose and a lot to earn by recycling, but our unwilling thoughts, way of life, and even selfish personalities make it impossible for it. Unless of course, we get a specific law that forces to it. In that scenario, just for avoiding an economical fine or some time in jail, we would become recycling experts.