In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

It is argued that government should place higher tax on fast food for causing some health problems to eaters. Personally, I totally agree that this action should be done. Therefore, this essay will discuss firstly the fact that fast food should be taxed like cigarettes or alcohol, and secondly how higher tax could stop people buying this kind of food. Firstly, while some stimulants like cigarettes or alcohol are considered leading to several harm to internal organs, fast food is also the cause of many acute diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, lung cancers and so on. Hence, governments should also place a heavier tariff on this type of food like the way they tax tobacco and alcoholic drinks to stop the rising number of the ill. Besides, the revenue from taxation could be used to treat patients with serious illnesses. Taking the United Kingdom as an example, where money from smokers is used to give better treatment to sufferers of lung cancer and heart diseases. Secondly, the reduction in junk food’s consumers could be achieved if manufacturers are charged higher for tariff. In fact, the convenience and affordable price are the main reasons why so many people eat fast food. Thus, if government officials levy a bigger tax on fast food companies, those would be more likely to raise the price of the commodity, which makes it become a both unhealthy and expensive product that would be bought just occasionally rather than regularly. As a result, less consumption of fast food would low the number of people suffering from health problems. In conclusion, to minimize people numbers catching diseases, junk food should be taxed at a higher rate because of the good precedent set by cigarettes and alcohol and in the sense that the increased cost could curb the intention of buying food.