Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays, worldwide modern cities are increasingly becoming overpopulated. There are two main causes, better education standards and work opportunities. Possible solutions would be a government plan to standardise curriculum systems and to establish new jobs in rural areas. One of the reasons why people are migrating to urban areas these days is that they provide better educational teaching and syllabus for their pupils. This is because of such cities have higher available resources and funds that allow them to improve significantly faster compared to other cities. For instance, the percentage of students who migrated to Sydney and Melbourne have risen dramatically since 1990, this is because many well-known schools and universities are generally located in these two cities. To tackle this issue, the government should take steps to increase the standard education quality and disperse the resources equally. Therefore, pupils would think twice prior moving, as they have the good accessible education in their area. Another problem that needs to be considered is the lack of job opportunities. As a result of a stronger economy in urban cities, employers are likely to invest new businesses there. For example, recent research discovered that eighty-five percent of new establishments are often situated in capital cities, hence forcing citizens to migrate in order to obtain new employments. One possible solution is for government to encourage companies to open their offices in rural areas by subsidising some of their expenses and train the inexperience workers there. If this is implemented it would reduce people from migrating to the city. In conclusion, overpopulation in urban cities is caused by low educational standards and job opportunities. The government needs to increase the quality curriculum levels and encourage new companies to open new businesses in rural towns.