All children should be given a free laptop when they start high school.

Some believe that every pupil entering secondary school should be gifted a laptop free of charge. I disagree with this because some children can afford to buy their own and the government cannot afford to do so. Those from wealthy families should not be given a complimentary computer. This would not be fair as this would result in money being taken away from poorer juveniles in order to give it to people who already have enough. If this proposed scheme was done on a means-tested basis, rich kids would not get anything and this capital could be diverted to those in most need. For example, in the United Kingdom, children whose parents are on state benefits receive subsidised school dinners but those with working parents do not. The state would also find it extremely difficult to finance such an initiative. The Education Department, like every other government department, has a limited budget, and if funds were spent on laptops, they would have to be diverted from other more worthy areas, such as staff. This would mean that class sizes would have to increase since budget would not be available for teachers, or even the classrooms themselves. For instance, most classes in developing countries have more than 30 in them because of the lack of budget for qualified teachers and teaching assistants. In conclusion, all freshmen starting high school should not be given a free laptop because this would not be fair to poorer students and there is not enough money for this project.