Many offenders commit more crime after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Although, after completing their first jail time, many criminals often commit more crime. One of the prominent reasons for this is unemployment and poverty. Firstly, criminals are not accepted by the society once they serve their first punishment. They do not get most of the jobs due to their past, and hence leading them towards unemployment and poverty. Because of unemployment they are not able to fulfil their or their family responsibilities and get motivated to do crime again. Secondly, the offenders are always on the lists of criminals under police radar even when they are thus free, making difficult for them to live a normal life. For instance, if a crime happens in their area, they are always taken by the police to check, if they were involved. Furthermore, having less police on the street also contributes to opportunistic crimes. Despite, these problems of first time offenders returning towards crime, the Government can take some important incentives such as skills training and rehabilitation programmes. These programmes can introduce many skills such as, learning computers, coding and cooking classes and many more which can help these criminals to earn their livelihood once they are free, and will eventually reduce crime rates and increase employment, thus, giving them a bright future. In addition, to this they should get counselling sessions while serving their punishment and even after leaving jail. This will help them get rid of their past and a start a new life. Moreover, more police force should be on the streets to stop crimes on the spot. In conclusion, the Government ought to utilize rehabilitation and skill training programmes in the jail for all criminals along with counselling sessions to make sure they will not return to crime.