Over population of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Overpopulation and negative effects of it are major concerns in cities all around the globe. There are many negative outcomes that the growing number of the population contributes and I think traffic congestion and rapidly increasing crime rate are two major drastic effects of overpopulation. This essay portrays the details of aforementioned two issues and suggests relevant solutions. Undeniably, choking traffic makes the city life difficult. Industries, schools and hospitals are rooted in the city areas. Everyday commuters spend hours after hours in the traffic signals. For instance, professionals or school going children need to spend their precious time on the road because of bottleneck traffic. Firstly, this problem can be talked significantly by constructing new flyovers, roads and by encouraging the use of public transportation. Secondly educating the public about car-pooling or promoting public transportation would be another great step to address the congestion. In addition, the crime rate is increased rapidly in urban areas. This is triggered by increasing unemployment and poverty. The government can control poverty by providing financial aid to the deprived community. Creating more job opportunities is another good and long term solution. Furthermore, the government should implement severe punishment for any sort of crime so that people think twice before committing any kind of crime. By these measures and by educating people, crime rate can be controlled to a great extent. Putting everything into consideration, even though cities are well developed, crime rate and traffic issues deteriorate the city living and these two problems occur mostly because of the increasing population in city areas. Decentralisation and development of rural areas could keep a balance between the numbers of population in rural and city areas and effective measures could be taken by government and citizens to address the negative effects which are caused due to the over population in urban areas.