Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

The rapid technological advancements over the last century have come at the cost of a briskly deteriorating environment around us. Many think that only governments and large companies can help alleviate this problem. However, I disagree with this notion and think that individuals have an equally vital role to play in improving the environment. Government alone cannot do anything unless people follow regulations and do little things on their part too. There are various ways in which individuals can contribute to a cleaner and healthier environment. Moreover, these measures do not require an extraordinary amount of effort. Instead, they are just slight modifications in our daily way of living. Firstly, people can choose to prefer public transport over private transport. Many people own cars and go to work in their cars. By choosing public transport, the pollution causing emissions from cars can be reduced. An example of this could be finding out the routes of the local transport companies and finding the best suitable option for you to go to work. Secondly, the most important thing that can be done is to plant trees. Planting trees is critical as it helps clean the environment and most importantly adds oxygen to the atmosphere. Most of the houses nowadays have lawns either inside or outside the house. A relevant practice could be to have more plants in one’s lawn. Thirdly, usage of plastic bags should also be avoided. Instead, use of more environmentally friendly bags that are biodegradable should be done. An example could be that a certain mart or superstore owner can replace the plastic bags in their shop with paper bags or d2o biodegradable bags. In conclusion, it can be said that even though the bigger action like policy formation or introducing regulations, has to be done on the part of the government or large companies; however, the responsibility of a cleaner environment cannot solely be put on these two. We as individuals of the environment that we live in have an equally vital role to play. Even the slightest of actions when taken by everybody can pile up and have a significant impact in helping improve our environment.