Ordinary people try to copy famous personalities by seeing them on TV and reading them in the newspaper. What is the reason? Is it a good idea to copy famous personalities?

Famous personalities have always intimidated people from all walks of people. For centuries, the common people have read about them in the newspapers and watched them on television, and then try to mimic their style. This essay will discuss why, despite the obvious drawback of falling into debt, ordinary people are still drawn towards the fancy lifestyles of the so called high society. When a common person sees or reads about the famous personalities of society, they instantly associate them with being rich and the ones having a luxurious lifestyle. Moreover, people tend to think that these people are important as they are always on television and in newspapers. To fulfil this desire of luxury and being important is one prominent reason why ordinary people try to copy them. For instance, the youth today likes to have the same clothes and tech as they see on their movie stars. Overall, the trend to follow the famous people comes from greed to feel rich and important. The masses try to blindly follow whatever they see or read their famous idols are doing. This idea of copying famous personalities is completely flawed because more often than not, what we see on television or read in newspapers is only part of the story and not the whole story. A study by Harvard University have shown that only twenty percent of television news is stating the full context and statistics. This is the reason why following famous people based on media sources are an outrageously wrong concept. To conclude, people must use their own sense of judgement and discretion before following anyone, no matter how famous they are, because newspapers and television media always try to portray a good image of the people they want to make famous.