Only formal examinations wtitten or practical can give a clear picture of students true knowledge and ability at university level. Continues assessments like projects and course works are poor measures of students ability. How far do you agree?

In mainstream education today, assessment criteria have changed dramatically as per the employment requisites. There is a controversy about the efficacy of written examinations and project assessments in proving how able a student is. I support both ideas, however, I felt, the most effective idea is the latter way, because of several reasons, which either discuss now. Firstly, the employability skills that every employer's expected performance from interview candidates are high, due to escalating demands in the job market. Thus, students have to acquire practical knowledge through projects, assignments and fieldwork. Hence, nowadays these methods of exams are quite popular among numerous universities worldwide. Moreover, these students would receive insight about work culture, so that they appear to be more adaptive to the outside world. Nevertheless, I agree with the criticism of this recent exam-patterns, is not a viable option to measure student's ability as a whole. This drawback outshines the benefit which receives in the professional courses like marketing and accounts. This is because it includes a great deal of research and study from the real work fields, which would enhance the skills and expertise in respective sectors. Although written examination at the end of the year is testing the rote memory of students and this method itself seems to be insufficient to measure abilities. There are other abilities such as creativeness and organisation skills which have to be tested in a continuous manner. Overall, course works and projects are clearly proved to be the best criteria for assessing students in a comprehensive manner than traditional written examinations at the end of every year now. Therefore, depending upon the outdated methods is not suitable for Universities today.