One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of medical science combined with technology, over the years, life expectancy has improved to a great extent. Until the last decade, where the life expectancy was 65-70 years for humans, it has now gone up to 80-85 years. This essay will talk about the advantages and how it outweighs the disadvantages. Over the years, health care has become an important aspect of research and development. Like all living beings, humans too want to survive the longest. Consequently, this is advantageous for us, as we have found cures for a varied number of diseases which weren't curable a few years back. For instance, we have successfully eradicated polio from India, just a couple of years back due to which the deaths due to polio have marginally reduced. To sum up, immediate and unnatural deaths have dropped due to advanced medical facilities available. Like a two edged sword, there are some disadvantages too due to the extended lifespan. Mainly, the biggest challenge faced worldwide is over-population. Moreover, countries like India, China, Bangladesh and a few others, are running out of space in metro cities due to increased density. Subsequently, this has lead to environmental degradation indirectly as we have been forging into nature to accommodate ourselves. To illustrate, if we do not take precautionary steps to control population, we'll soon run out of space, water and food which are the basic essentials for a living. Conclusively, it is very evident that medical research has contributed solely to the betterment and extension of our lives. Lastly, the positives are a plus for us only if we can control the negatives. To reiterate, a global effort is required to control the cons, like over-population and if we could do that, this planet will be sustained.