Old people get bored after retirement. Explain the causes and solutions.

How lovely would it have been, if one could maintain a working status quo throughout a lifetime? Unfortunately, this is not the situation with the geriatrics. Evidently, they become unenthusiastic after their active years of service. Probably because of weakness and not having anything to do, but there are ways out of this menace. Although there are countless reasons the elderly get world-weary in their later years. One reason is the fact that their activities reduce and they became sedentary since they would not be able to go out and fend for themselves as former. Therefore, they are restricted to be indoors. Another cause could be due to their fragility. Inadvertently, the older generations get weaker as they grow and are advised to minimise their engagements. As a result, they are not permitted to take part in tedious exercises and this increases their boredom. For instance, the majority might not be conversant with being in the house all day since they go to work, but the moment there is nowhere to go, life becomes miserable and discomforting. However, there are numerous ways to allay the unpleasant situation. Firstly, the government should create an avenue for them to still be relevant in society. In other words, those who are agile should be allowed to continue their profession. For instance, retired lecturers and teachers could lecture and teach on a part-time basis. Secondly, the authorities should build recreational centres basically for them. In such places, there would be talks on how to keep fit even in old age, free gym service also to keep them healthy. Finally, there could be a team that would be going around to visit and engage those who are too feeble to move around so they do not fall into depression. In conclusion, in as much as there are various causes of boredom in old age, extending their service years and engaging recreational in recreational activities are means this could be eradicated.