Nowdays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get local to visit museums and historical sites more?

Landmarks and museums, in the present context, are widely popular among the foreigners besides the local residents. Globalization is the main cause while awareness regarding the importance of sites is a most for promoting locally. World has become a smaller place as a rapid advancement in the technology and access to internet. Peoples nowadays leaves no stones unturned with respect to fulfilling their interest and eagerness. Peoples escape their hectic schedule schedules travelling to same exotic places within or overseas. In addition to that, the historians and anthropologists have now easy access to any desired nook and corner in the world. Thus, museums and historical sites become the part of their excursion, either primary or tertiary, among many other destinations. For example, a recent report by BBC concluded that, on an average 60 percent of every white colored professionals are found in an abroad family trip once in every two month. Local people needs to be made aware regarding the importance of their history, culture and legacy. Awareness campaign among all age groups, especially focusing on youths and children, can be a major stopgap measure highlighting the relevance of promoting their culture and history through museums. In addition to that, the management and operational aspects of the property could be shared among the locals and authority. This may help generate we-feeling among the locals resulting promotion of institutions locally along with maintaining social integrity and security. To my perspective, handling over the operation and maintenance aspect to the local community could garnish the local visitors significantly. To sum up, museums and places with historical values are widely popular among the outsiders. Easy access and change in travelling habits are the major driving force, however, awareness campaigns and local management roles can help influence the domestic tourism.