Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourists instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

In recent decades millions of tourists from other countries have visited China heritage sites and museums. In contrast, the numbers of residents visiting these same sites have dropped. This essay sets out to ask why this has happened and offer solutions. There are two reasons why so many foreign tourists travel to these destinations. Firstly, because of well-produced and lavish advertising by airlines and tour companies, especially, as prime examples the internet and social media. Secondly, and unquestionably the main reason, is the ever-decreasing cost of international airfares. Furthermore, is the fact international air travel is now within reach of those on moderate incomes, host countries also have encouraged the rise in visitors. As to local Chinese populations, for the same reasons and by nearly the same measure, they too are opting for foreign trips and holidays to destinations around the world. So, my proposal for increasing the numbers of natives who are not visiting local landmarks and places of historical importance is to increase the awareness and heighten the important history and ancient culture of China. To accomplish this aim is to use the same methods as those used to welcome visitors from abroad, simply by better advertising, improved infrastructure, and to ensure costs, whether they be for travel, or entrance to some special sites are accessible to all. In summary, naturally, as technology has advanced and with cheaper fares, global travel is now a major leisure activity. However, ensuring that local people also appreciate their own countries, heritage and familiarise themselves with some of both the man-made and natural beauty spots, then raising awareness through media is key.