Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society.

One of the most conspicuous trends in today's world is media channels. Some people believe that news channels focus only on controversies rather than focus on global problems. On the other hand, others argue that the media have their limitations and freedom to choose content that need to be telecasted. As such, there are both merits and demerits for this trend. I agree that all media content should be equally distributed and cover all the matters with equal importance for social harmony. Firstly, there is a deluge of arguments and the most preponderant is that corporate style, working to influence news television programs focuses more on commercials and less focus on content. Moreover, media broadcasts are free to air and the only income generated is through advertising commercials through rating. For instance, a recent survey suggests that half of the television viewers are loosing interest in watching the news because of too long commercials. Needless to say, money minded business mentality made television more boring and less appealing programs. Secondly, another pivotal aspect is that to gain instant rating and popularity controversies are the only possible way to gain huge viewers. In addition, change in viewers tastes made media representatives shift their focus from positive development programs to advertise programs. For example, Foxstar media had huge losses in its recent sports sponsorship and trying to earn more money from commercials to pacify the loss incurred. Hence, the media have chosen to make money out of their programs and not to spread awareness or to benefit people. In conclusion, one can clearly understand that financial burden can make press agents to shift their focus from innovative programs to controversial content. Finally, the role of the media is too dire to ignore.