Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In the recent times, with the advancement of science and technology, abundant modes of communication are becoming widely significant and popular. Many individuals use various interaction techniques with the development of technological improvements. This essay will discuss the various ways in which technology has affected relationships among people and why this has become an unfavourable development. At the outset, the types of relationships people create nowadays are meaningless. Individuals ensure that they make acquaintances but not meaningful relationships. For instance, people have a plethora of contacts via social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Skype and a lot more, but these are not strong familiar relations. Even though the introduction of video call facilities tries to replace physical interaction, they fail to address the natural exchange of emotions between connecting individuals. Although the development of technology allows people to interact using different modes, this has become a negative development since it deters the concept of face-to-face interaction. This means that the individuals do not witness trustworthy and meaningful associations. Furthermore, this creates a sense of loneliness since people do not have a moral support to rely on and they tend to become aloof. To give a clear example, a recent research study revealed that individuals having direct physical face-to-face interaction are much more emotionally healthy than the ones that lack this interaction. The more one-to-one interaction, the more is the relationship strong and healthy. With the above facts clearly stated, it is evident that although technological advancements have improved interaction and communication among individuals, physical interaction and connection is essential for meaningful relationships to sustain in the long run.