Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, technology has improved prominently and has changed our way of lives in different aspects such as our interactions. Considering how technology affected people’s relationships establish whether or not this is a beneficial change. As people are very busy with their professions nowadays and have limited time to socialize with their friends, they feel lonely. The situation is more disappointing for those busy employees who are surrounded with their duties and have not enough time to meet new people and start a romantic relationship. Social media and different dating applications ease making connections for these people; it takes little time to start online conversation with who they think is a good match for them. These online talks usually lead to in-person coffee or dinner dating. However, the problem is that the prevalence of social media affected the quality time among families. For instance, teenagers tend to spend more time on social media with their online friends instead of their parents. Thanks to the technology, relationships last over time and distance. In pre digital days, it was difficult for people to stay connected after graduation from school or moving to other cities. These days, individuals are connected with each other through Facebook, Instagram, Skype and other messenger applications. Although, we should not neglect the undeniable negative effects of mentioned applications on users particularly on teenagers. Sometimes people compare their own life with the uploaded pictures of best and happiest moments of others and feel disappointed about their selves. In conclusion, the prevalence of technology will help people to socialize and keep their relationships. However, this reliance on technology will be like a double-edge sword, as they can affect family ties and make people feel worst about their lives. As long as individuals manage their time and are aware of life’s realities, technology will be favorable.