Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In the recent times, many people have developed a passion for travelling especially, to places which are inhabitable and hostile. The conditions can be extremely dangerous, yet they want to test their limits and explore the unknown. This essay will shed some light on pros and cons of a trip to such places. Firstly, the major advantage of travelling to far flung places like the Sahara Desert or the Antarctica is that it gives you the experience of a lifetime. The entire journey can be mentally and physically exhausting but the sense of accomplishment upon reaching there cannot be expressed in mere words. It gives the adrenaline rush which makes one forget all the worries and relieves of any stress and tensions of life. Moreover, it allows a person to test his or her limits by undertaking difficult terrains on the trek. For instance, I went on a trekking trip with some of my friends to Weichin in Himachal Pradesh. Little did we know about the route which became a fork at one point. We did not know which one to take and we still decided to carry on. It was because of pure excitement and the need to feel the thrill. Thus, people are indeed aware of the risks and still they set out on tedious journeys. On the flip side, mishaps are very common during these excursions. Things could go against our plans. Lots of travellers have died while trekking difficult mountains or crossing turbulent rivers. There are numerous adventure seekers who have sustained serious injuries leaving them immobile for the rest of their lives. Furthermore, if anyone goes missing or land themselves in trouble, the government may have to launch rescue operations which are exorbitant and time consuming. To conclude, difficult journeys are extremely thrilling. They are equally dangerous, yet many people undertake them because they want to test their limits and conquer the unknown.