Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary society, technology has transformed the people affairs, especially in the field of communication. The above mentioned change has both merits and demerits that would be analyzed in this essay. Advancement in the field of science and technology has influenced people’s behavior in the different facets of life such as education, business and communication. Firstly, people are getting educated online with the help of advance technology. For instance, most prestigious Universities, such as Harvard and MIT, are offering online courses for distant-learning students around the world. Secondly, businesses have greatly benefited, because of the online applications, such as ZOOM. These apps enable businessmen to call out meetings online, cutting significant cost on travel and saving precious time. Lastly, people communication has become instant, and distance barriers are removed. For example, Facebook, Twitter and Skype are continuously supporting users to get in touch with their family and friends on the click of the button, no matter where they live. However, advancement in technology has dark sides too, which need to be taken in to account. New technology has deteriorated people soft skills. Increasing number of people are being involved in online communication with virtual friends, and ignoring colleagues and neighbors around them. Lack of face to face communication is damaging public social skills, such as negotiation and empathy. What is more, family bond is weakening, because of the over use of this new technology. For example, TIMES reported that in 2018, an average child in U. K has spent around six to eight hours on screen, which depleted quality time with family, consequently he received less parental care and affection. To sum up, although new technology has some demerits, if it is used in a responsible manner, people would be able to reap its benefits in multiple fields of life, such as studies, e-commerce and virtual communication