Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

Today, more than ever, when it comes to the issue of determining whether or not advances in technology affect the types of relationship individual make a plethora of perspective have been put forward. The expansion of modern means of communication is the ongoing debate which triggers so much controversy. This issue is fiercely criticised by some experts who are on the view that they pose a direct threat to social lives and may come at the expense of a severe social isolation and sedentary lifestyle. Others realise the significance of these means of communications and stick to the idea that these types of relationship are integral parts of interpersonal communication. Consequently, they are regarded as worthwhile. Nevertheless, as far as I am concerned, the opinion put forth by the second group is more logical. In the following paragraphs, I will shed light on my own attitudes for this issue. To begin with, in the past, communication among people looked bleak. People used to meet and make an appointment to see each other and in according to the fact that communities had busy people and they seem doomed to have far-reaching communication. In the second place, modern means of communication command people’s attention. They are the fastest and easiest way of togetherness. People are at the mercy of virtual world to have opportunities to get in touch with others even in the remotest part of the world which contributes to saving their time and hanging out every moment. This issue questions the need to have face to face interactions. To cut a long story short, for better or worse, we live in a world which is surrounded by computers, cell phones on an unprecedented scale with which people spend their spare time. The truth is that, in this hectic lifestyle, the responsibility of real-time conversations, visualisation of each other, information exchange which enables individual to share a variety of information such as activities, events, interests, ideas falls on these ways of communication. Thanks to tremendous advances in technology. Last but not least, emails and messages make people more comfortable which pave the way for explaining their feeling without shyness and give them a sense of absolute confidence, also they are the backbone of introducing friends among youth which increase their social friendship. In conclusion, all in all, rather than devoting a great deal of time and energy solely in terms of face to face interaction, the trend today is toward using modern means of communication to get  in touch with others. The pivotal role these ways of communication performed in interpersonal communication is hard to ignore. However, many people fail to appreciate it.