Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationship people make. Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technological advancement in the last two decades has made it possible for people to form and maintain long-distance relationships. However, this trend has negatively impacted the way people interact with others in their immediate environment. On the one hand, the new advances in technology have afforded people in many countries the opportunities to use their phones and electronic devices to communicate with others who are far apart rather than travel over long distances in order to meet up with them. For instance, instant messages, voice and video calls to friends and colleagues are now possible using Skype, Whatsapp and other social networks. Thus, people can regularly share ideas with like minds and maintain relationships without distance barrier. This was challenging few years ago and it would not have been possible without the improved telecommunication that exist today. Nevertheless, this trend is a negative development because people now prefer to communicate using their electronic devices instead of having face-to-face interactions. Thus, friendship between people living in the same neighborhood is on the decline. For example, many teenagers and young adults today, are preoccupied with their phones and prefer to communicate with strangers on social media rather than discuss with their parents and individuals around them. As a result, many people do not have essential communication skills. In conclusion, technology has enable people to interact with others despite having distance barrier. Nonetheless, many people are finding it difficult to communicate with those who are closer to them. Measures geared towarding involving face-to-face interactions should be encouraged.