Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people are being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, technology has brought many changes in our society. With being monitored through security cameras or cell phones, some people believe that it has negative effects on our society. However, many people believe there are a lot more positive effects on people’s lives, such as strong security and saving lives. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give my opinion at the end. One of the huge advantages about being monitored is security. Since governments set many security cameras in public places, the crimes are becoming lower than they used to be. Increasing security cameras demonstrates a measure that banks can take to prevent to being robbed. In return this can protect many people financially, especially those less fortunate. As a result, being monitored will help to increase a stable life. The second benefit to being monitored is saving lives. For people who may have a serious illness, It is possible for them to become incapacitated in public places. Security monitors can potentially inform authorities, lowering the time before emergency services arrive. Thus decreasing casualty rates. On the other hand, being monitored has a deleterious effect on society. When people are on their phones in public places, it is possible for them to be hacked, leaking personal information such as a bank account number. For example, hackers may use a bank account number to manipulate the owner. Governments should take this into consideration to prevent citizens personal information from being exposed to the world. In conclusion, this essay has shown the benefits and drawbacks. I believe that being monitored can help people in many positive ways. Thus, people should realize that security cameras and cell phones can enhance safety and improve their way of life.