Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to advances in technology, authorities can now keep a constant watch on their citizens. While it is true that the people being watched are often unaware of this happening, in my opinion, the benefits of this practice outweigh the disadvantages. The public places in majority of the metropolitan cities are kept under round the clock monitoring with the help of security cameras. The constant vigilance on the densely crowded areas, not only limits the chance of any untoward incidents from taking place but also provides security intelligence in case of any suspicious activity happening. The culprits can be brought to book, with the help of available video evidence. The tracking of non-physical activities like internet usage and cellular phone messages is also possible with the help of available technology. A constant watch on cyber activity provides vital information about any security threats to a particular country and with the help of tracking these activities can be neutralized before taking place. Although the constant information gathered helps in public safety, at times it can cause severe problems to the individual citizens. Sensitive information like bank records or property details if fallen into the hands of criminals can lead to cybercrimes. With the current day technology, money from one person’s account can be transferred to criminals’ account with this information. The tracking of internet usage can also cause inconvenience to the people. Telemarketing agencies target the people based on the information gathered through the cyber activity of people and call them and make phone calls to them without consent. These calls might happen during important working hours leading to decreased productivity. To conclude, constant surveillance provides a safety net to the citizens and country, although there is a danger of confidential information getting leaked to cybercriminals.