Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful. What are the reasons for this? Is it positive or negative development?

Recently, there is a trend among parents to push their children towards the highest achievements. The main reason of this trend is that we live in a highly competitive society and if a person does not have a good start, they can be left behind. In my opinion, it can be harmful as well as beneficial for children and depends on a balance; how hard adults push their youngsters towards success. The way of thinking of a modern society is that if someone is not on the top, they are not able to consider themselves worthy. That is the reason why adults are pressing their children to succeed. Probably, these people believe that if they did not influence their offspring in the childhood, they would not be happy and acknowledged in the adulthood. As far as fame and money is concerned, it is better to build a steady foundation from the early beginning than starting the way of building the future success only after the graduation. For instance, my parents did not force me to play piano and I had left musical school. At the moment, I have realized that it was a mistake because I have a talent. However, it is too late to start studying music all over again. Thus, from one side, it is a positive turn that parents encourage the youth to win and achieve the highest results. By doing this, they are helping them to create concrete base for the future lives. For instance, Maria Sharapova became a famous tennis player because her father pressured her to play and even took her to America in order to arrange the training under the best coaches. As well as positive outcome, too much pressure may be destructive for a child’s self-esteem. Some kids are not able to be resistant to adult’s attempts to make them ideal achievers. In fact, it is good idea to concentrate on the happiness of a child. As we know, a happy person can be considered as a successful person, while a successful one is not equal a happy one. In conclusion, the main reason why parents are pressing their children to be successful is that a modern society is putting pressure on every one due to competitiveness. After considering the issue, I believe that this tendency has positive as well as negative consequences.