Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years Why do you think this has happened Is it a positive or negative development

Over the last few years great amount of boutiques in a commercial center have ceased their activities. The reason behind this trend is lack of cost recovery due to various factors. In my opinion, it is a positive development because goods that were sold in main street shops were expensive and were not affordable for an average person. The main factor playing role in disappearance of high street shops is that the prices for the property in the business center of a city are going through the roof. As a result, business owners are not able to cover their expenses despite the fact that they mostly sell brands. In fact, average customers cannot afford them and tend to order products via the Internet because online-shops have significant variety of product as well as delivery and lower-prices. Consequently, modern boutiques become uncompetitive and business owners forced to close their high street shops and search for another way to fill a market niche. From my perspective, this trend is advantageous for individuals and economy as a whole. First, switch to the Internet shopping means higher asset turnover which is beneficial for the economy. In terms of customers, clothes and other goods from the Internet shop have lower prices and wider variety. Thus, people are able to purchase something affordable and appealing to them. For example, I wanted to buy a new dress from natural fabric and I was not able to purchase it in ordinary shops because it was too expensive. Later I had ordered few dresses online and finally bought a gorgeous dress. I totally enjoyed by this experience, especially because it did not consume too much time and there was not need to go to a market or a mall. In conclusion, having considered the reasons of shuttering of main street shops, I believe that it is a positive development. This is because processes of shopping became more comfortable and affordable.