Nowadays some individuals behave in an anti-social way. In general, it is the society to blame. What causes the anti-social behaviour of individuals? Who should be responsible for dealing with it?

In the modern world where everyone is connected to each other by the Internet, it is daunting indeed to receive news from the press about anti-social people committing cruel crime around the globe. I suppose the key factor for the growth in the number of extreme anti-social behaviours is a severe income gap around the globe. Fortunately, I am convinced that there are several approaches to address the problem and one of them is an implementation of modified taxation system. One reason for their misbehaviour is the unsettling situation of income gap. We are living in a world in which only a minority of citizens have access to abundant financial resources. Sorrowfully, the horrifying situation is gradually becoming more hopeless than before. If a youngster grows up in a deprived background, he/she may be hindered from lessons taught by experienced and qualified teachers. Similarly, he may not be able to get admission in a prestigious college that requires excellent performance in the qualifying exams, namely SAT and GSCE. Consequently, he/she loses the chance of obtaining professional and transferable skills to earn a living in the fiercely competitive job market. With low job satisfaction, those in poverty are prone to resent toward the whole society and are likely to behave violently. Thus, the hardships may turn deprived ones evil because they see no prospect in their life and career. I believe that the government and legislative bodies should be involved to remedy the tragic situation. They have the crowning power and inescapable responsibility to optimize the life quality of citizens. One strategy is to optimise the process of collecting and using tax. Tax is a conventional but effective way to reshape the economic structure of a country. Provided that the relevant departments are determined to distribute the wealth of the nation in a more reasonable way, they can impose heftier tax on people whose income is extremely high and use the revenue to help those who cannot make their ends meet. Also, there can be synergy if the poor are brought up with the positive idea of gaining a satisfactory life by working. Equipped with honed skills for employment, they are more likely to find suitable jobs and attain contentment. Achieving the goal of living with dignity, the former hopeless people can be more confident about their future and therefore abandon the thought of coveting others’ benefits or physically hurting their neighbours. To summarise, the worrying trend of antisocial behaviour is provoked by the horrifying income gap at present so the government and legislative bodies should take some measures. Modifications in the taxation policy should be considered in order to settle the problem practically and financially.