Nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and local community?

These days in many parts of the world, shops have extended their working hours, for the whole week. Although, there might be a small number of adverse effects on shop owners, I assert that it is very beneficial for both the consumers and the society as a whole. This essay explains why it is a positive development and states reasons for the same. Firstly, longer opening hours are convenient for the customers because they can visit the store at any time feasible to them. Due to increasing working hours in almost every sector, people usually get free at late and rather inconvenient hours. For that reason, having a local centre to buy all the necessities could be advantageous. For instance, shopping centres in Beijing are open for customers 24/7, therefore allowing them to buy goods, even at late nights as most of the people get free at this time. As customer satisfaction is an essential factor in a majority of the markets, extending opening hours would definitely cater the customer needs predominantly. Furthermore, with the increase in opening hours, shops have a significant importance in the growth of local communities. As the seller’s profit margin rises, the government receives more revenue in terms of taxes. Consequently, development in communities like repairing the roads or building facilities for children can be done. In addition to this, many employment opportunities can be provided as the stores extend their operating hours. This majorly benefit students, as they can work part-time after their classes. Overall, this essay explains why businesses extending their working hours are a positive development. Although, customer convenience is the primary goal for these stores, their role in community development and employment opportunities is very effective.