Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is that? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

The declining popularity of bicycles as a mode of transportation has been a major concern of today’s world. This phenomenon could be ascribed to several underlying explanations and some measures could be utilized to promote the usage of bicycles. There are several reasons why people hesitate to commute via bicycles. The primary cause is that bicycles are inconvenient when compared to other types of transport such as cars and motorbikes. These means of transport are obviously faster and more suitable for long-distance journey. Another factor is that in many countries, there is a shortage of dedicated cycling lanes. This means cyclists may be at risk of colliding with other vehicles which can lead to critical injuries. A number of measures could be adopted to encourage the use of this environmentally friendly vehicle. Firstly, the government might conduct monthly green days that require people to cycle to work. In the long term, these days not only contribute to environmental protection, but also help citizens to form a habit of cycling. In addition to this, it is important for the authorities to allocate more money for the construction of cycling paths for the citizens. Once a network of cycling lanes is well-developed, people might choose a bicycle as a preferred form of transport. In conclusion, the unpopularity of bicycles may result from several reasons. Strong solutions including building cycling lanes and organizing monthly green days should be taken to persuade people to use bicycles more frequently. It is predicted that unless these remedies are implemented, the problems associated with using less bicycles will continue to persist in the future.