Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think face-to-face interaction is essential.

It is common these days for friendships to be made using websites designed to connect people. A group of people perceive this is a healthy thing while others differ with this opinion. In their view, it is important to physically know people before you can be friends with them. This essay will be covering merits of both these thoughts. Knowing people using modern means of communication allow you to learn from individuals across the globe. For instance, an individual sitting in a café in Canada can interact with another one working in Australia though geographically they are miles apart. To give a clear example, this interaction allows them to exchange knowledge about their communities, religions and more. For these reasons, friendships made over the internet are advantageous. Some people support the opinion that, until you have met a person you cannot trust them. There have been multiple instances of online harassment and frauds done by strangers you don’t know personally. For example, recently under the cyber-crime law cases were reported where screenshots of your chat or pictures you shared were used for blackmailing. Additionally, more severe damage was done where people accessed the other persons computer remotely and conducted banking transactions. Incidents such as these make people doubt such relationships. In my opinion, knowing and making friends with more and more people is good. To conclude, I believe we just need to be a little careful about the content we share with them and this applies to friends in general not limited to those made over the internet only.