Nowadays people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. What might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Today, most of the people are more inclined to establish their own occupation than ever before. This approach benefits them from more job security and freedom. Nonetheless, there are also consequences in this choice, which should not be undermined. It is an indisputable fact that the past decades have seen a considerable growth in the number of companies and organization, leading to more competition. In this situation, employers look for staff with extraordinary qualifications to overwhelm them with a wide variety of responsibilities and tight schedule. Many employees, as a result, prefer to find their own niche by being self-employed. Having the ability to manage their work, people would have more free time to spend for other aspects of life such as family, recreational activities and traveling without being manipulated by a principal. However, it is crucial to consider this fact that this method has brought about major consequences. As people who work for themselves are alone most of the times, they can’t find enough opportunities to communicate with others. This results in detrimental effects their mental health, causing disorders such as depression and anxiety. It also gives them a sense of alienation, distancing them from their society. Furthermore, there is a high risk of collapse and losing business in this term. If entrepreneurs don’t have the knowledge of running a business, they will face serious challenges to tackle which can even culminate in bankruptcy. By way of conclusion, being self-employed is going to be an increasing trend among members of society. In spite of its considerable advantages in terms of freedom and job security, the downside should not be forgotten.