Nowadays museums have become more and more important. What are the purposes of places such as museums and how should they be funded?

Museums have been one of the most pivotal places to learn about a certain field. Today, many museums operate entertaining facilities for visitors to enjoy. The argument that museums should merely be a place of education, is both supported and refuted by many. This essay will discuss both points before giving a conclusion. To begin with, amusement areas at museums can attract a diverse audience especially children. A survey done by a National Education Institute plays a good example here. It suggests that few students feel motivated to learn at a traditional classroom setting. Instead, learning through games and kinesthetic activities can boost their interest. This is applicable in this argument too, providing some leisure activities at museums can enhance learning outcomes, and captivate children’s attention. This explains why museums should also be entertaining. On the other side of the argument, the most common purpose of visiting a museum is for education. For instance, people visit art galleries for sketching, or history museums to collect some relevant data for their study. Hence studying at a museum that has many entertainment facilities can be destructive. Owing to the fact that these places can be noisy as the children play, and people speak loudly. Consequently it can detract the concept of studying quietly. Thus the viewpoint that a museum should be a place of education is justified. To conclude, both sides of the argument that museums should be a place of learning have strong reason. However after discussing their points, there seem to be more advantages if museums provided some entertaining activities. Such type of exhibitions are believed to become a mainstream in the foreseeable future.