Nowadays museums have become more and more important. What are the purposes of places such as museums and how should they be funded?

Museums in today’s society are of importance to show various exhibits. However, only a few people are willing to visit there. There are reasons why this is the case, and this facility plays a key role in several respects. Some of us are of the opinion that museums generally lack interests, so they usually choose to stay away from these places. For example, in a museum, if there has no change of pieces of collection and format of exhibitions, and limited entertaining activities such as interactive games are available to guests when visiting there, people will probably feel bored and tired. In contrast, they normally prefer activities with more fun, including playing basketball, going for a picnic, and hunting for animals. Besides, people today can use the Internet searching for information about the history and technology, and it is unnecessary for them to go to museums and learn. One of the importance of a museum is that it is important to pass our tradition and culture on to next generations. For instance, with the display of ancient kitchenware, visitors are able to know how our ancestors cook every day, and from the painting works which are drawn during previous dynasties, they can also understand what the styles of constructions in the past. Another important point is that these facilities offer opportunities to learn newly developed techniques, which is significant to our social development. For example, museum visitors in the aviation museums can arise a certain understanding of recent space technology, and young people visiting the biology museum can have the idea of the reason for the extinction of various species. This can stimulate children's and teenagers' interest to learn, and therefore, cultivate the needed experts to contribute the development of our society. In conclusion, in my opinion, the lack of interest and the using of Internet could be reasons for which there is less population of visitors to museums. However, these places are still important to deliver information about the culture, history and science.