Nowadays museums and historical sites are mainly visited by foreign tourist instead of locals. Why is this happening? What can be done to get locals to visit museums and historical sites more?

Recently, most local indigenous hardly visit museums and historic sites in their countries instead these places are mostly visited by foreigners because the natives find them less attractive. Hence to encourage frequent visitation, the government should try to reduce the entry fees paid by the local community. Locals of a country find their museums and historical sites very boring because they have been to these places over time and nothing has changed in so many years. Hence many of them prefer to explore new places and that might mean travelling out to other countries. For example the "Great Artefact" museum in Nigeria hasn't been developed in the last 50 years and this place has experienced a low turnout of the indigenous in the last 10 years or more. Furthermore, the entry fee paid by foreigners and the locals in the same. Most foreigners are very enthusiastic in coming to these places and wouldn't mind to pay more to visit these places, but a resident would see it as a to but waste of money, paying so much to see what has been seen before without any new developments. To alleviate this problem, archaeological places should be renovated every 10 years to make them more attractive to everyone both locals and foreigners. Also, the local community should be made to pay a lesser entry fee than foreigners pay so that people who do not earn so much money can have to privilege to visit these sites at little or no cost. In conclusion, to ensure that most local inhabitants are encouraged to go to their museum and historical sites as much as international tourist do, new developments should be put in place to attract them and fees be reduced drastically for them.