Nowadays, most people learn academic study at university, but others think we should encourage learning vocational skills more.

Whether university students should be given sheer theoretical knowledge has been debated in recent years. Although some argue that it is more necessary for young students to be equipped with vocational skills, I believe that both academic knowledge and vocational skills play important roles in their future. It is of great significance for students at the higher education stage to have a good understanding of the subjects they study. Obviously, one can become a professional only if he or she has a solid foundation of a field, and the cumulative academic study serves as the foundation. For example, a respected lawyer must be adept at all theoretical parts of his/her field, and only in this way can he apply what he/she learned in the career. Although the occupations as lawyers often credit more to their years of experience, no one can deny that it is the theory they learn at first that build the foundation of their career. However, the importance of vocational skills should never be ignored. We have to admit that real situations are more complex than those showed in theory, and no one can perform well with only academic parts at work. Therefore, acquiring vocational skills at school prepares students to solve real problems in their future work. These skills can range from interpersonal skills, communication skills to problem-solving skills. If the young know how to deal with those problems in their study, they will be more competitive than other peers. For instance, if a lawyer only cares about the theory in books, but overlooks the interaction with his clients, he might be seen as ineffective. In conclusion, academic knowledge helps people become professionals while job skills give the young practical techniques, so that students should have both courses at university.