Nowadays most people are not as fit and active, as they were in the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

"All work and no play makes jack a dull boy", is a famous proverb. It essentially infers to sedentary lifestyles followed by many people, that are devoid of any sort of physical activity. This essay will discuss the major reasons for this situation and its possible solutions. In the current competitive times, its difficult to make ends meet because of an increase in qualified cheap labour. This in turn has levied increased work pressure on workers. The worker's generation, especially the lifestyles of generation X people (the age bracket of 20-40) working in the Information Technology (IT) industry are the most affected by this pressure. The IT industry workers are often seated at their workstations and tend to invest in longer working hours. There is little to negligible physical activity among such workers. A typical working day for an IT industry worker spans about 7-9 hours including lunch breaks. Assuming the absence of ergonomically designed chairs (these are special designed chairs to fit the seated body posture of an individual) in most workplaces, poses a major health risk. Besides, the environmental conditions some other factors like absence of lower-body movement (like walking) at work or irregular dietary habits also increases health-related problems. To curtail such health-risks, its important the generation X people take preventive measures. Like a short walk of 250 steps each hour, or, including a protein-rich diet in their lifestyle can help mitigate the dangers of impending health risk like obesity or high blood cholesterol levels. In conclusion, this essay has highlighted major reasons for health-related issues among the generation X people employed in the IT sector. It has also outlined a few preventive measures that can easily be adapted by people to improve their lifestyles.