Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

More and more domestic and office works are now being performed by machines. This essay believes that this a negative development, because by replacing people they have increased unemployment, and compare to humans they cannot efficiently execute critical tasks involving intelligence. One reason why robots replacing human in doing the daily chores has a bad impact on us is, because people have lost their jobs especially in the manufacturing industry. That is to say, most of the industries now employ machines and robotic arms in their assembly lines, whereas, in the past, those tasks were performed by people, and this has risen the unemployment dramatically. For example, when BWM automated it’s automobile factories in 2010, the company had to sack 20 thousand of its employees, and this was the biggest layoff in the organisation’s history. Furthermore, due to the deficiency of intelligence and cognitive ability, robots cannot work with full capacity in comparison to humans. Deploying robots for daily chores such as cleaning and handling safety procedures has witnessed a sharp increase in injuries because machines tend to fail in making critical decisions due to the ack of emotions. For instance, UK’s Ministry of Health published a report stating that, in 2017, 50 % of work-related and 30% of domestic tasks related injuries were directly or indirectly caused by automated machines, and in most of the cases the machine failed to make an immediate decision which resulted in those accidents. In conclusion, these days many home and commercial tasks are being done by machines and I believe that this has a damaging effect on society because this has enhanced joblessness and robots are not productive in handling crucial operations.