Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development.

People have different views about whether it is better for the culture of a country to import movies and TV shows from overseas or to attempt to produce them on in their own country. While such imports make a valuable contribution to national culture, I would argue that promoting local entertainment is a much better option. On the one hand, it is beneficial for the cultural life of a country to purchase international movies and TV programmes. Firstly, foreign films and TV shows could help people have a better understanding of beauty in different cultures in a more effective way. For example, queue culture is a lovely habit in many Western countries, and if Vietnamese people watch movies produced by these countries, they could learn and copy this action. Secondly, foreign films and TV shows cold improve the viewer’s language skills, via combining learning and enjoyment. Many Vietnamese students, for example, take advantages of watching TV Series such as Friends. On the other hand, I strongly believe that it is better for national culture to produce local movies and TV programmes for two reasons. The first one, from an educational perspective, the young could have a good grasp of their culture via local entertainment, stimulating their interest and national pride. For instance, instead of studying history from boring textbooks, students now can learn by watching locally-made documentaries or movies. The second one, from an entertainment perspective, domestic films and shows could bring people true feeling and complete understanding of context. As such, even copyright ideas from overseas are utilised, local producers could adapt them to make shows to suit their local people’s tastes, such as the Vietnamese version of The Voices. In conclusion, while purchasing foreign movies and TV programmes does have some benefits to a nation’s culture, it seems to me that making local ones is better choice owing to their roles in the field of education and entertainment.