Nowadays, more and more university students choose to study abroad. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Going on to higher education in another country, which can be a life-changing experience, is gaining in popularity. Although this may have some drawbacks, on balance, it seems to be to the benefit of university students. From a personal point of view, being a student at a foreign university can be conducive to gaining valuable life experience. Exposure to different situations, which pose challenges not faced or anticipated before, helps developing competence. Having to deal with such matters as a foreign student without the assistance of family, in a new system with its own characteristics could effectively result in honing problem-solving skills and building self-reliance, which are fundamental to a person’s skill set and instrumental in life. Professionally speaking, pursuing higher education overseas can play a prominent role in improving job prospects after graduation. Studying at a foreign university leads to obtaining internationally recognized qualifications, holders of which typically meet higher professional standards. This, along with the global outlook formed in the other country, paves the way for working for more reputable companies as it is looked upon favourably by their recruiters. Being away from family as a student, might at first give rise to homesickness. It is only natural to miss familiar people and places when navigating student life as a young adult far from home. This may lead to feeling insecure and helpless for some time, which could potentially affect academic performance in the early stages of higher education. In terms of culture, students are likely to experience culture shock when studying abroad. Faced with a new and possibly dissimilar culture, a young university student may find it somewhat difficult to get to grips with the new way of life and social behaviour. Although it could be unsettling at first, it is quite likely to dwindle after the period of adaptation to the host culture. Since it takes time to adjust, forming social relationships may initially be hindered which can probably cause feelings of isolation. To conclude, while feeling homesick and facing cultural differences might negatively affect foreign university students for some time, studying abroad has such profound and long-term effects on both personal and professional lives which tip the balance in its favour.