Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people.

It is true that in the modern world people have a tendency to read online newspapers. While I believe that reading news on the Internet can bring people up to date with what had happened effectively, I also believe that printed newspaper is a better way to gather information. On the one hand, there are several reasons why online newspapers are in preference to printed ones. Firstly, online newspapers can provide people with regular news updates. The latest news can be spread on the Internet at the time some events take place, as a result, users can quickly obtain up-to-date information. Take a football match as an example. The match score is updated only a few seconds after a player scored a goal so that people can catch up on the match easier. Secondly, online newspapers can lighten the financial burden for both readers and publishers. The publishers can reduce the amount of ink and paper to print the newspapers. Readers can get the news that is free of charge with their phones or computers instead of buying the paper. On the other hand, it is wrong to reject the argument in favor of printed newspapers. Firstly, the papers can provide a major source of news of high quality. Each item of news is classified more carefully and thoroughly in printed newspapers than those on the Internet due to the money they cost. Secondly, reading the papers can remain a healthy way for readers to gain information. Reading news on the Internet over phones or computers can inflict damage to people's eyes while printed papers are harmless. In conclusion, it is ludicrous to compare online newspapers with printed ones because they are equally important.