Although more and more people read the news on the internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people.

There is no doubt that news reading has become increasingly popular over the past few years. Many people believe that while the internet has become a major source of news, newspapers will always be the best place to know what is happening around the world. This essay will discuss why I disagree with this viewpoint. Firstly, most newspaper organizations are developing and maintaining electronic news websites in order to reach more and more people. Since most people are maintaining electronic devices where they can find hundreds of online resources to know what is happening around them, many of them have lost interest in reading newspapers. For example, in India, many newspaper publishers have stopped publishing newspapers as their business went down because of advanced technology. In contrast, even though some critics argue that many older people still depend upon newspapers as they are not aware of online news, I believe online news readers outnumbered these elderly populations. Moreover, more and more readers are concerned about the price of the newspaper. This is because nowadays the internet connection cost is cheaper than many newspapers in many countries. For example, in Japan, the internet connection price is 15 dollars per month, while the newspaper cost is around 20 dollars a month. While some people argue that newspaper companies offer annual discounts, I think the internet assists us in many ways besides reading online news. In conclusion, I disagree with the opinion that newspapers will still be the best place to find the news even though more and more users prefer to read the news online because of online news websites and newspapers being more expensive than the internet. Therefore, I suggest newspaper companies to stop their publications and put more focus on developing online newspapers.