Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, the decision of parents to start a family later in life has become an increasingly popular trend. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on both family life and on the community as a whole. ” There are two important reasons why more people nowadays are deciding against having children when they are young. Firstly, rather than embarking on parenthood, many individuals consider that building their own successful careers is top-priority. If they had to split their time between working and bringing up their offspring when they were in the early stages of their careers, their performance at work and promotion prospects could be negatively affected. Secondly, delaying childbirth could give young people countless opportunities to enjoy their lives. For example, this choice may let young couples have a richer social life, pursue their interests and hobbies or even to travel the world. However, this tendency could have negative consequences in terms of both family life and society. An important concern for a family is that raising children could be a huge challenge for older parents. Even though they might have a high socioeconomic status, as well as great experience and knowledge, it may not be easy for them to communicate with and relate to their children, due to the generation gap. Another negative factor is that getting pregnant after 35 years of age oftentimes carries more potential health risks. Specifically, this could increase the danger of having a miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down’s syndrome. Consequently, this could negatively affect the quality of the future workforce. In conclusion, there are a number of reasons why more and more people prefer giving birth later in life. As a result, there could be negative influences on individual families and the society at large.