Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The vast majority of people give up their personal data to technology companies and, in return, those companies allow them to utilize their program. This essay will first discuss about how this scheme can help many individuals start up their companies and then talk about how it can lead to spam and fraud before coming to reasoned conclusion that the advantage does not outweigh the disadvantage. The main advantage of obtaining rights to use applications by providing personal data is that it can help individuals begin their own businesses. Instead of paying hefty price tags for software license, people get it for free. This particularly beneficial for those who want to start their own businesses but do not have enough money to purchase applications that are needed for their work. According to the Adobe, Inc. , 85% of their customer use their license-free software for 1 year before upgrading to business license. Despite this benefit, sharing personal data with high-tech companies without lawful agreement can lead to spam and fraud. It is a common observation that those companies fail to keep their customer data safe and, as a result, the data leaks to the internet. Furthermore, criminals may use this data for their actions, such as sending fake information to people through their email addresses or using others' credit cards to shop online. To illustrate, hundreds of Facebook's customers reported that they got many annoying emails following an announcement that the company had an issue with its security system. In conclusion, people may take an advantage of sharing personal data to get programs for free, but they are at risk if their data leaks to the internet. Therefore, it is clear that the benefit of giving up personal data to technology companies does not overshadow the disadvantage.