Nowadays, many young adults find the consumption of energy drinks as a reliable way to recover from exhaustion and stress. Is this a positive or a negative development?

To get back from stress and fatigue, energetics are referred to as the most trusted ways which has inclined their usage to a great level. This trend has both benefits and harms and those will be discussed further. There is no denying that glucose drinks replenish the stamina in the best way. They refuel our body with glycogen and sugar molecules, this provides energy to carry on further tasks without feeling drowsy. They have been known to provide strength as well as a good taste and thus counted up as a sports supplement. In no time, they have taken up the market and every teenager wants to have them while playing. Gatorade, Glucon-D, Rasna etc. can be seen in every house and have replaced the early cold water with a dash of lime tradition. But, are they seriously worth considering as a health product? On its contrary, science has proven them unfit for consumption. These, being just simple sugars are very much higher in glycemic index and cause many problems and discomforts. They are artificially prepared and even contains some percent of alcohol in them. Though they are good in taste but they have a lot of additives in them which are known to cause high sugar level, increased blood pressure, obesity and even has made children addicted towards it. A survey found that 71% of teenagers are consuming energy drinks and out of it 58% are obese and 32% are diabetic patients. In its conclusion, Although these drinks may appear as a solution to exhaustion, but are having many negative effects, hencehence, they must be avoided or their use must be limited. We must stick to the old, natural and healthy lemonade to regain energy.