"Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up. " To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that fatherhood is as important as motherhood for upbringing a child. Some people argue that mothers are accountable for raising their children up. It is agreed that an equality in parenthood is must. This essay will discuss roles of parents to play and a shared responsibility of parenthood before coming to a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, there are numerous reasons that support the idea that both parents have different roles to play, but the most conspicuous one is rooted in the fact that fatherhood is as lauded as motherhood. Even though fathers are taking a responsibility to run the family, modern mothers are also expecting to continue their careers after having babies. Consequently, the idea of parenting has changed in the recent years. Fathers are also cuddling with children, changing their nappies and looking after them in the absence of their mothers. Of course, newborn babies require extra care from mother, but the fathers’ affection is as valuable as mothers. Therefore, father's care plays an important role. Moreover, It is practically impossible to care a child for one person and still pursue a demanding career. Mothers have to do cooking and other household activities along with raising a child. Nevertheless, young mothers want to continue their career after having a baby and expect their husbands to take part in the upbringing activities. Additionally, fathers also a necessary role to play. For example, if a child is being harassed, father is the first person to be approached for support. Children feel more secure with their father. Therefore, parenthood should be a shared responsibility. To conclude, an equal importance of fatherhood and motherhood has been discussed. Both parents have to play different roles to raise a child. Although Mothers are mostly the care takers, fathers are supporting financially. However, the idea of parenthood has changed now as mothers are also working. Hence, both parents should have accountability for raising children.