In the past people wore their traditional cloths and followed their culture. These days most of them wear fashionable cloths and look similar. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development.

It is undeniable that the global phenomenon of modernization has a great impact on people's dressing style and preferences. However, the former were the days when people preferred the traditional attire of the country and adopt the cultural norms, but nowadays wearing a fashionable clothes is a priority of the people so that they all look alike. Although, I think that the trend of adopting fashion is a negative development, but its positive aspects could not be ignored. To begin with, more and more people are indulging in the fashion and they select their dresses according to the latest trend and totally neglecting their traditional dress up styles. This has happened due to technology because people could get familiar with the stylish clothing on the internet. In addition, people have been following the western cultural dressing sense that is why, one's own country's cultural extinction has become a major concern as people are no more respectful towards their own cultural norms and values. Indeed, one research article suggests that 60% of people in India opt the dress designers of foreign culture as they are no longer interested in their own traditional dresses. Thus, this trend has various negative implications for today's generation as they are much concerned with the current fashion. Despite this, due to advancement in fashionable attires, the fashion designing has become a booming industry and getting a huge profit because the vast majority of people spend lavishly on the clothes. In addition, it has an indispensable role in generating employments as more people are required in order to work in this industry so that demand of people could easily meet. For example, the course in fashion designing has a huge demand all over the world and the people who are degree holder in the course could easily secure a good job position. Overall, to keep pace with the latest fashion certainly has some merits. In conclusion, as compared to past these days people updated themselves with the trend of fashion and tried to follow them with great efforts. It has various detriment effects because people are totally away from their own tradition and culture and considered their own values and norms related to dressing styles an extremely dull and boring. As far as I concerned, to follow the past paced fashion is worthless for a society in a long term