Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative and positive impacts of playing computer games, and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

These days, several persons could use computer systems for variety of things, and an increasing number of young ones engage themselves in playing games on laptops and tablets. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of allowing youngsters play games on systems, as well as proffer ways of reducing the drawbacks of this activity. One of the major benefits of computerised games among adolescents is that it enhances their thinking capabilities. Due to the fact that they play electronic games with rapt attention, they are able to rack their brains to produce desired results. When they transfer this thinking ability to their studies, they perform excellently in cognitive domains. Moreover, when the young ones indulge in PC games, they get entertained and feel ecstatic, especially when they win which is quite good for their emotional stability. Also, games such as 'prison break' and 'hero' teach them to persevere until reward comes. However, there are few drawbacks of this activity, one of which is addiction. A child can easily become addicted to some of these games and he or she could lose interest in studies as well as relationship with other people. For example, some youngsters show poor academic performance because their mind is always occupied with one game or the other. Another downside is the fact that these young ones sometimes lose their social and behavioural skills, they exhibit violence tendencies as they unconsciously act out what they have been busy with on systems. For example, a child that spends time playing 'manhunt' or 'death race' games may end up becoming violent and brutal in the society. Some measures can play important role in reducing the adverse effects of computerised games. One of these measures is that governments should enact a law that prohibits individuals younger than nineteen from using tablets or systems on certain days of the week. This will reduce their level of exposure as well as give them the opportunity to spend their time on something more productive. Additionally, some games which promote violence, mischief, and brutality should be banned in order to prevent the adolescents from being exposed to such acts, thereby protecting the society as a whole. In conclusion, presently we have many computer users and an increased number of adolescents indulging in games on workstations. This situation has some benefits for the young ones, its demerits can be alleviated by enacting laws to create computer-free days as well as banning some violent games on computer systems.