Nowadays many people choose to self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be a case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Over the years, industrial production has risen to cater the needs of a growing population across the globe. Some believe, it has helped in reducing poverty owing to the large number of employment opportunities it creates, while few think industrial activities have affected the environment through various types of pollutions. The Industrial sector has contributed a lot of labour market. Firstly, preference is given to locals which cuts down the unemployment rate of a country. Secondly, people with limited skills and less education can also work with these industries by doing physical labour work. Thirdly, skilled people do not have to leave their home country in search of jobs. Lastly, wages are paid to everyone as per government rules, thus removing room for any labour exploitation. For instance, France government has made it compulsory for new businesses to hire 45% of their local staff in order to strike a perfect balance in their economic and public welfare. Therefore, flourishing industries tend to contribute to the growth of locals and the country's economy On the other hand, it is widely believed that heavy commercial activities has disturbed our surroundings. Toxic gases emitted from these factories are root cause of air pollution. Waste chemicals are released into water bodies depleting the quality of water and affecting our marine wealth considerably. Number of trees are cut down, for these units to set up in the outskirts of the city. For example, the city of Shanghai had to shut all their factories for a day in order to reduce the toxic fog created due to air emissions from them. Hence, it is evident that these industrial activities play a pivotal role in harming our habitat through numerous ways. In my opinion, our atmosphere is widely affected due to industrial growth. Although, it prospers an individual by providing wages to fulfil their basic needs, it also puts their life at stake by exposing them to such hazardous ecosystem. Local councils should approve constructions of such units, only after analysing their waste disposal system and recycling process. Periodic and surprise audits should be carried out by officials to ascertain any wrong doings that can harm our ecosystem. Over the course of the time, our ecosystem will not remain a place to survive for our future generations. To conclude, although industries provide livelihood for locals, it also affects environment they live in to a great extent. Currently, the whole world is facing environmental degradation and it is crucial for countries to unite and bring about some universal industrial practises which not only benefits citizens but also takes care of our environment.