Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, there is an increasing number of people are opting to start their own business instead of being an employee. From my point of view, the main causes of this phenomenon are the freedom that people get by working independently and the difficulty in seeking a job. There are several drawbacks to self-employment though, the two most significant ones are the lack of stable income and a considerable amount of funds is required. To begin with, liberty and the lack of job opportunities are two key reasons that encourage people to choose to run their own companies. First and foremost, the independence that comes along with self-employment is the reason why people opt to work for themselves. If someone works for a corporation, they will be bound by the rules and values of the company. Sometimes, the rules that exist in the company are not in accordance with someone's life principles or ideals. Therefore, being your own boss is a good alternative. Then, besides that, nowadays the difficulty of finding a job has become commonplace. Competition in the job market is getting tougher, more and more young people with bright qualifications cannot compete in the world of work. Thus, they chose to become entrepreneurs and set up start-ups rather than not working at all. On the flip side, being self-employed also has several disadvantages, such as there is no guarantee of getting a salary every month and also requires a large enough capital at the start. Firstly, it takes years for a self-employed person to establish themselves in their field and until then there is no guarantee that they will earn enough to make a living. Then, another downside is a start-up often requires a considerable amount of funds at the beginning. To conclude, many people choose to work for themselves and open their own companies rather than being an employee. In my view, there is a wide range of causes for this trend such as the liberty of being self-employed and the difficulty in looking for a job. However, self-employment also has some drawbacks, like it requires a big amount of money to start a company, and also there is no guarantee to receive a paycheck at the end of every month.